Jefferson County Public Library Logo
 
spacer
What's New home
spacer spacer
Home > Find Library Books & More > For Book Lovers > Web Sites for Readers > Book Discussion Group Resources

Book Discussion Group Resources

Discussion Groups and Clubs | Discussion Guides | Publisher Links | Reading Networks

Discussion Groups and Clubs
African-American Literature Book Club
Explore the world of African-American literature with links to authors, poets, books, reviews, events, chat and more.

Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers
Quarterly listings of winners of the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award. Summaries of each title are provided, as well as listings of previous winners.

BookCrossing
Read a good book, register the book on this Web site and release it for someone else to read (park bench, airport seating, give to a friend). The path each book follows may possibly be recorded right here! Leave it behind for someone else to enjoy!

Book Divas
Online community and book club for young adult and college readers.

Masterpiece Theatre Book Club
Gives viewers the opportunity to read and discuss selected books alongside their screen adaptations presented on Masterpiece Theatre. There are two installments per year - one in the spring and one in the fall.

Nancy Pearl's Book Lust Wiki
More then just book club suggestions, this site is billed as "A community for book lovers". Here you can also read reviews, find links to author sites and find many booklists of recommended reading.

Oprah's Book Club
Explore titles Oprah Winfrey selects for her television show book club by reading book excerpts and discussion guides and participating in online discussions.

Reader's Circle
Reader's Circle has a directory of book discussion groups, links to authors who will do phone conversations with book groups and many links to additional resources.

ReadingGroupGuides
The online community for reading groups.

The Republic of Pemberley
Discussion boards and links about and related to the novels of Jane Austen.

The Today Show Book Club
Each month, "Today" invites a best-selling author to choose a book written by a lesser-known writer for the club to read. This site offers a number of book categories, sure to please the avid reader!

USA Today Talk Today Book Club
Provides a monthly selection of a title, as well as a moderated online discussion of the title. You will need to register online to participate in the discussion.



Discussion Guides
Masterpiece Theatre
Discussion questions and author profiles for books dramatized on PBS' Masterpiece Theatre.

Morton Grove Public Library - Book Discussion Guides
This site from a book discussion group in Morton Grove (Illinois) provides links to discussion guides, articles, reviews and interviews with authors.

Reading Group Choices
An all-purpose site that provides links to reviews, discussion guides and other information on hundreds of book titles. A quick "first-stop" for all kinds of book group information: how to start a group, find new members and more!

Sparknotes
Book group meets tomorrow and you haven't read the book yet? Sparknotes.com (a service of Barnes & Noble) provides online study guides, similar to Cliff's Notes, which provide detailed chapter summaries, character analysis and discussion questions.



Publisher Links
Ballantine Reader's Circle
Provides reading guides for its Ballatine books, including in-depth interviews with authors, discussion questions, biographical information about the author and extensive reviews.

Beacon Press
Beacon is an independent publisher of books that "promote freedom of speech and thought; diversity, religious pluralism, and anti-racism; and respect for diversity in all areas of life." The reading guides, though limited in number, contain thought-provoking questions and in-depth author information.

Books@Random | Reading Group Guides
These reading group guides, focusing on books published by Random House, feature plot descriptions, discussion topics and author biographies. Search by author, title, or category.

HarperCollins | Reader Resources
This publisher's site gives information on both fiction and nonfiction titles and includes author profiles, chapter excerpts and reader's guides with plot summaries and discussion topics.

Penguin Books
In addition to reading guides for its bestsellers, the Penguin site has guides for a number of classic titles.

SimonSays.com: Reading Guides
Simon & Schuster provides reading guides and excerpts to books it has published during the last decade. Search by author, date, title or keyword and subscribe to the mailing list to receive free updates to the latest titles.

Vintage Reading Group Center
Searchable by author or title, this site provides more great reading group guides with links to the books published by Vintage.



Reading Networks
Book Army
Get recommendations from other users, read reviews, join groups and more. Free registration required.

Book Sprouts
Create and join book clubs, select books to read with your book club and review and discuss books online.

GoodReads
Organize and share your books. Read and write reviews. Import and export your booklist. Free registration required.

LibraryThing
Catalog your personal collection and share it with friends. Create and use tags to organize your books. Free registration required.

Shelfari
Share and review your books. Get recommendations from other members. Free registration required.





Bookmark and Share