Nov. 27-28  - All libraries will be closed for Thanksgiving.

Home > Books, Movies & Music > New Arrivals > New Arrivals - Biography

New Arrivals - Biography

A revelatory history of the people who created the computer and the Internet. Discusses the process through which innovation happens in the modern world, citing the pivotal contributions of such figures as Ada Lovelace, Alan Turing, Bill Gates, and Tim Berners-Lee.

A deeply personal memoir by the 2014 Texas Democratic gubernatorial candidate traces her upbringing by a single-mom high school dropout, her early divorce, her Harvard Law School education and the early political achievements that led to her successful 2008 election to the Texas Senate.

The actress best known for her work on "Parks and Recreation" and "Saturday Night Live" reveals personal stories and offers her humorous take on such topics as love, friendship, parenthood, and her relationship with Tina Fey.

"... revisits the Gary Hart affair and looks at how it changed forever the intersection of American media and politics"--From publisher description.

"David Greenway, a journalist's journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it's like to report a war up close"-- Provided by publisher.

"Taking her cue from a challenge thrown to her in Seattle, where a skeptical reader told her that Americans don't care about books the way they did back in Iran, she energetically responds to those who say fiction has nothing to teach us. Blending memoir and polemic with close readings of her favorite American novels-The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Babbitt, and The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, among others-she invites us to join her as citizens of her 'Republic of Imagination,' a country where the villains are conformity and orthodoxy and the only passport to entry is a free mind and a willingness to dream"--Provided by publisher.

Offers a sweeping portrait of one of the twentieth century's most significant politicians, businessmen, and philanthropists, discussing his four terms as governor of New York, two years as Gerald Ford's vice-president, and relationships with other politicians.

In his unique and engaging voice, the acclaimed actor of stage and screen shares the emotional story of his complicated relationship with his father and the deeply buried family secrets that shaped his life and career.

A biography of comedian Bill Cosby, revealing the behind-the-scenes story of The Cosby Show as well as Cosby's bestselling albums, breakout role on I Spy, and pioneering place in children's TV. It also deals with professional setbacks and personal dramas, from an affair that sparked public scandal to the murder of his only son, and the private influence of his wife of fifty years, Camille Cosby. Whitaker explores the roots of Cosby's controversial stands on race, as well as the Cosby effect that helped pave the way for a black president.

A prismatic and lyrical narrative rich with the colors, sounds, smells, and textures of Miami, Richard Blanco's personal narrative is a resonant account of how he discovered his authentic self and ultimately, a deeper understanding of what it means to be American.

"... collection of never-before-published images taken over the course of Derek's final season"--Jacket.

The true story of Theodore Roosevelt's harrowing 1914 exploration of one of the most dangerous rivers on earth, a black, uncharted tributary of the Amazon that snakes through one of the most treacherous jungles in the world. Indians armed with poison-tipped arrows haunt its shadows; piranhas glide through its waters; boulder-strewn rapids turn the river into a roiling cauldron. After his humiliating election defeat in 1912, Roosevelt set his sights on the most punishing physical challenge he could find, the first descent of an unmapped tributary of the Amazon. He and his men faced an unbelievable series of hardships, losing their canoes and supplies to punishing whitewater rapids, and enduring starvation, Indian attack, disease, drowning, and a murder within their own ranks. Three men died, and Roosevelt was brought to the brink of suicide. Yet he accomplished a feat so great that many at the time refused to believe it.--From publisher description.

Recounts the challenge Julia Immonen and four other women accepted to row across the Atlantic Ocean to raise awareness about the modern day slave trade, against the backdrop of Julia's own history of violent relationships.

In this full and frank memoir--a personal story of duty, family, justice, politics and resilience--New York Governor Andrew Cuomo reflects on his rise, fall, and rise in politics, and recounts his defining personal and political moments and tough but necessary lessons he has learned along the way.

"Mick Fleetwood has been a member of the ever-evolving Fleetwood Mac, one of the world's most successful and adored bands, for over four decades. Here he tells the full and candid story of his life as one of music's greatest drummers and bandleaders, the cofounder of the deeply loved supergroup that bears his name and that of his bandmate and lifelong friend John McVie. Play On sheds new light on Fleetwood Mac's raucous history, describing the highs and lows of being in the band that Fleetwood was determined to keep together."-- From publisher description.

For the last twenty-four years, Debby has been by her father?s side, as a part of his concert touring act, as well as a supportive part of his family. She has been with her dad through his four wives, through drug and alcohol addiction, and now through the shattering beginnings of Alzheimer?s disease. In her frank memoir, Campbell tells the story of her father straight from the heart.

A Colorado woman's account of being sexually molested by her father, then living under foster care after her father murdered her mother and three of her siblings; of marrying an emotionally abusive man, raising her own family, and finally learning to forgive herself and take control of her life in order to live fully and colorfully.

"One of the most influential, admired, and innovative women of our time: fashion designer, philanthropist, wife, mother, and grandmother, Diane von Furstenberg offers a book about becoming the woman she wanted to be. Diane von Furstenberg started out with a suitcase full of jersey dresses and an idea of who she wanted to be -- in her words, 'the kind of woman who is independent and who doesn't rely on a man to pay her bills.' She has since become that woman, establishing herself as a global brand and a major force in the fashion industry, all the while raising a family and maintaining 'my children are my greatest creation.' In The Woman I Wanted to Be, von Furstenberg reflects on her extraordinary life -- from childhood in Brussels to her days as a young, jet-set princess, to creating the dress that came to symbolize independence and power for an entire generation of women. With remarkable honesty and wisdom, von Furstenberg mines the rich territory of what it means to be a woman. She opens up about her family and career, overcoming cancer, building a global brand, and devoting herself to empowering other women, writing, 'I want every woman to know that she can be the woman she wants to be" -- Provided by publisher.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee traces his six-decade career through the cars he has owned, discussing how they are reflecting new understandings about the environmental impact of automobiles.

Over 150 years after her death, a widely-used scientific computer program was named ?Ada,? after Ada Lovelace, the only legitimate daughter of the eighteenth century?s version of a rock star, Lord Byron. Why? Because, after computer pioneers such as Alan Turing began to rediscover her, it slowly became apparent that she had been a key but overlooked figure in the invention of the computer. In Ada Lovelace, James Essinger makes the case that the computer age could have started two centuries ago if Lovelace?s contemporaries had recognized her research and fully grasped its implications. It?s a remarkable tale, starting with the outrageous behavior of her father, which made Ada instantly famous upon birth. Ada would go on to overcome numerous obstacles to obtain a level of education typically forbidden to women of her day. She would eventually join forces with Charles Babbage, generally credited with inventing the computer, although as Essinger makes clear, Babbage couldn?t have done it without Lovelace. Indeed, Lovelace wrote what is today considered the world?s first computer program?despite opposition that the principles of science were ?beyond the strength of a woman?s physical power of application.? Based on ten years of research and filled with fascinating characters and observations of the period, not to mention numerous illustrations, Essinger tells Ada?s fascinating story in unprecedented detail to absorbing and inspiring effect.

The founder of the Equal Justice Initiative in Montgomery, Alabama recounts his experiences as a lawyer working to assist those desperately in need, reflecting on his pursuit of the ideal of compassion in American justice.

A book that explores the seemingly magical world of Jackie Onassis' youth, her fairy-tale marriage to a wealthy and handsome senator and presidential candidate and her astonishing transformation into a deft political wife and unique first lady. Also explores what the author asserts was Jackie's 31-year struggle with PTSD after the assassination of her husband, John F. Kennedy.

A portrait of the 15th-century peasant-turned-saint that draws on historical facts, folklore and centuries of critical interpretation to evaluate the questions attributed to her character.

"A collection of Don Morreale's YourHub/Examiner.com articles about the life and times of contemporary Coloradans. He writes about artists, athletes, thinkers, helpers, seekers, travelers, and plain folks with unusual personal histories."--from publisher's description.

Pages