Nov. 27-28  - All libraries will be closed for Thanksgiving.

Home > Books, Movies & Music > New Arrivals > New Arrivals - Biography

New Arrivals - Biography

An intimate account by the rock music artist that traces his hardscrabble youth in Mexico and early days as a promising guitarist through his influential collaborations with fellow Latin stars.

Traces the career of the star player for the New York Rangers, from his childhood in Saskatchewan to his professional career, and reveals how a series of concussions led to his accidental death and subsequent investigations into systematic violence in contact sports.

Describes the father of pedestrianism's 1909 walk from New York to San Francisco at the dawn of the age of automobiles, and explores what society lost in the shift from foot travel to car travel.

A complete look at the Queen of Soul that chronicles both her troubles and her triumphs over them, from her youth in Detroit as a gospel prodigy to her rise as one of America's greatest musical talents.

With a star that rose from unforgettable child acting roles, such as A. C. Slater in Saved by the Bell, to the forefront of today?s entertainment media, Mario Lopez is nothing short of a pop culture sensation. Now, as he turns forty, Mario looks back on his life with a newfound perspective and a humorous sensibility of how things have changed with age, divulging for the first time the endearing, surprising, and sometimes difficult experiences that shaped him into the loving father and husband he is today.

The author recounts some of his many solo journeys to some of the world's most exotic peaks, told with humor.

One woman's journey to find the lost love her grandfather left behind when he fled pre-World War II Europe, and an exploration into family identity, myth, and memory.

The lead guitarist of Aerosmith shares behind-the-scenes perspectives into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame-inducted band, discussing such topics as his teen decision to drop out of school, enduring relationship with Steve Tyler and experiences with fame and recovery.

A broadcast journalist and leading Alzheimer's advocate shares her husband's battle with Alzheimer's disease, examining this devastating condition and its effects on the people who have it and those who care for them.

The man who led the intelligence war that killed Osama bin Laden traces a life of leadership in public service, from his tenure in Congress through his years as director of the CIA and Secretary of Defense.

Jimmy Wayne's account of his horrendous childhood and the love shown him by Russell and Bea Costner, the elderly couple who gave him a stable home and provided the chance to complete his education. It also chronicles Jimmy?s rise to fame in the music industry and his "Meet Me Halfway" campaign: his walk halfway across America, 1,700 miles from Nashville to Phoenix, to raise awareness for foster kids.

"From journalist Robert Timberg, a memoir of the struggle to reclaim his life after being severely burned as a Marine lieutenant in Vietnam. In January 1967, Robert Timberg was a short-timer, counting down the days until his combat tour ended. He had thirteen days to go when his vehicle struck a Viet Cong land mine, resulting in third-degree burns of his face and much of his body. He survived, barely, then began the arduous battle back, determined to build a new life and make it matter"-- Provided by publisher.

The legendary creator of iconic television programs All in the Family, Sanford and Son, Maude, Good Times, The Jeffersons, and Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman, Norman Lear remade our television culture, while leading a life of unparalleled political, civic, and social involvement. Sharing the wealth of Lear's ninety years, this is a memoir as touching and remarkable as the life he has led.

In this bold and candid memoir, music legend Billy Idol shares his life story?from his childhood in England to his rise to fame during the height of the punk-pop revolution?revealing intimate details about the sex, drugs, and rock and roll that he is so fabulously famous for?all told in his own utterly indelible voice.

One of the most influential Latina performers in history opens up about her life's most defining period, two years during which it took everything she had to rise above the greatest challenges she had ever faced.

A revelatory history of the people who created the computer and the Internet. Discusses the process through which innovation happens in the modern world, citing the pivotal contributions of such figures as Ada Lovelace, Alan Turing, Bill Gates, and Tim Berners-Lee.

A deeply personal memoir by the 2014 Texas Democratic gubernatorial candidate traces her upbringing by a single-mom high school dropout, her early divorce, her Harvard Law School education and the early political achievements that led to her successful 2008 election to the Texas Senate.

The actress best known for her work on "Parks and Recreation" and "Saturday Night Live" reveals personal stories and offers her humorous take on such topics as love, friendship, parenthood, and her relationship with Tina Fey.

"... revisits the Gary Hart affair and looks at how it changed forever the intersection of American media and politics"--From publisher description.

"David Greenway, a journalist's journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it's like to report a war up close"-- Provided by publisher.

"Taking her cue from a challenge thrown to her in Seattle, where a skeptical reader told her that Americans don't care about books the way they did back in Iran, she energetically responds to those who say fiction has nothing to teach us. Blending memoir and polemic with close readings of her favorite American novels-The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Babbitt, and The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, among others-she invites us to join her as citizens of her 'Republic of Imagination,' a country where the villains are conformity and orthodoxy and the only passport to entry is a free mind and a willingness to dream"--Provided by publisher.

Offers a sweeping portrait of one of the twentieth century's most significant politicians, businessmen, and philanthropists, discussing his four terms as governor of New York, two years as Gerald Ford's vice-president, and relationships with other politicians.

In his unique and engaging voice, the acclaimed actor of stage and screen shares the emotional story of his complicated relationship with his father and the deeply buried family secrets that shaped his life and career.

A biography of comedian Bill Cosby, revealing the behind-the-scenes story of The Cosby Show as well as Cosby's bestselling albums, breakout role on I Spy, and pioneering place in children's TV. It also deals with professional setbacks and personal dramas, from an affair that sparked public scandal to the murder of his only son, and the private influence of his wife of fifty years, Camille Cosby. Whitaker explores the roots of Cosby's controversial stands on race, as well as the Cosby effect that helped pave the way for a black president.

Pages