Nov. 27-28  - All libraries will be closed for Thanksgiving.

Home > Books, Movies & Music > New Arrivals > New Arrivals - Biography

New Arrivals - Biography

The man who led the intelligence war that killed Osama bin Laden traces a life of leadership in public service, from his tenure in Congress through his years as director of the CIA and Secretary of Defense.

The lead guitarist of Aerosmith shares behind-the-scenes perspectives into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame-inducted band, discussing such topics as his teen decision to drop out of school, enduring relationship with Steve Tyler and experiences with fame and recovery.

A broadcast journalist and leading Alzheimer's advocate shares her husband's battle with Alzheimer's disease, examining this devastating condition and its effects on the people who have it and those who care for them.

The legendary creator of iconic television programs All in the Family, Sanford and Son, Maude, Good Times, The Jeffersons, and Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman, Norman Lear remade our television culture, while leading a life of unparalleled political, civic, and social involvement. Sharing the wealth of Lear's ninety years, this is a memoir as touching and remarkable as the life he has led.

Jimmy Wayne's account of his horrendous childhood and the love shown him by Russell and Bea Costner, the elderly couple who gave him a stable home and provided the chance to complete his education. It also chronicles Jimmy?s rise to fame in the music industry and his "Meet Me Halfway" campaign: his walk halfway across America, 1,700 miles from Nashville to Phoenix, to raise awareness for foster kids.

"From journalist Robert Timberg, a memoir of the struggle to reclaim his life after being severely burned as a Marine lieutenant in Vietnam. In January 1967, Robert Timberg was a short-timer, counting down the days until his combat tour ended. He had thirteen days to go when his vehicle struck a Viet Cong land mine, resulting in third-degree burns of his face and much of his body. He survived, barely, then began the arduous battle back, determined to build a new life and make it matter"-- Provided by publisher.

One of the most influential Latina performers in history opens up about her life's most defining period, two years during which it took everything she had to rise above the greatest challenges she had ever faced.

In this bold and candid memoir, music legend Billy Idol shares his life story?from his childhood in England to his rise to fame during the height of the punk-pop revolution?revealing intimate details about the sex, drugs, and rock and roll that he is so fabulously famous for?all told in his own utterly indelible voice.

The actress best known for her work on "Parks and Recreation" and "Saturday Night Live" reveals personal stories and offers her humorous take on such topics as love, friendship, parenthood, and her relationship with Tina Fey.

A revelatory history of the people who created the computer and the Internet. Discusses the process through which innovation happens in the modern world, citing the pivotal contributions of such figures as Ada Lovelace, Alan Turing, Bill Gates, and Tim Berners-Lee.

A deeply personal memoir by the 2014 Texas Democratic gubernatorial candidate traces her upbringing by a single-mom high school dropout, her early divorce, her Harvard Law School education and the early political achievements that led to her successful 2008 election to the Texas Senate.

"Taking her cue from a challenge thrown to her in Seattle, where a skeptical reader told her that Americans don't care about books the way they did back in Iran, she energetically responds to those who say fiction has nothing to teach us. Blending memoir and polemic with close readings of her favorite American novels-The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Babbitt, and The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, among others-she invites us to join her as citizens of her 'Republic of Imagination,' a country where the villains are conformity and orthodoxy and the only passport to entry is a free mind and a willingness to dream"--Provided by publisher.

"... revisits the Gary Hart affair and looks at how it changed forever the intersection of American media and politics"--From publisher description.

"David Greenway, a journalist's journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it's like to report a war up close"-- Provided by publisher.

A prismatic and lyrical narrative rich with the colors, sounds, smells, and textures of Miami, Richard Blanco's personal narrative is a resonant account of how he discovered his authentic self and ultimately, a deeper understanding of what it means to be American.

Offers a sweeping portrait of one of the twentieth century's most significant politicians, businessmen, and philanthropists, discussing his four terms as governor of New York, two years as Gerald Ford's vice-president, and relationships with other politicians.

In his unique and engaging voice, the acclaimed actor of stage and screen shares the emotional story of his complicated relationship with his father and the deeply buried family secrets that shaped his life and career.

A biography of comedian Bill Cosby, revealing the behind-the-scenes story of The Cosby Show as well as Cosby's bestselling albums, breakout role on I Spy, and pioneering place in children's TV. It also deals with professional setbacks and personal dramas, from an affair that sparked public scandal to the murder of his only son, and the private influence of his wife of fifty years, Camille Cosby. Whitaker explores the roots of Cosby's controversial stands on race, as well as the Cosby effect that helped pave the way for a black president.

Recounts the challenge Julia Immonen and four other women accepted to row across the Atlantic Ocean to raise awareness about the modern day slave trade, against the backdrop of Julia's own history of violent relationships.

In this full and frank memoir--a personal story of duty, family, justice, politics and resilience--New York Governor Andrew Cuomo reflects on his rise, fall, and rise in politics, and recounts his defining personal and political moments and tough but necessary lessons he has learned along the way.

"... collection of never-before-published images taken over the course of Derek's final season"--Jacket.

The true story of Theodore Roosevelt's harrowing 1914 exploration of one of the most dangerous rivers on earth, a black, uncharted tributary of the Amazon that snakes through one of the most treacherous jungles in the world. Indians armed with poison-tipped arrows haunt its shadows; piranhas glide through its waters; boulder-strewn rapids turn the river into a roiling cauldron. After his humiliating election defeat in 1912, Roosevelt set his sights on the most punishing physical challenge he could find, the first descent of an unmapped tributary of the Amazon. He and his men faced an unbelievable series of hardships, losing their canoes and supplies to punishing whitewater rapids, and enduring starvation, Indian attack, disease, drowning, and a murder within their own ranks. Three men died, and Roosevelt was brought to the brink of suicide. Yet he accomplished a feat so great that many at the time refused to believe it.--From publisher description.

A Colorado woman's account of being sexually molested by her father, then living under foster care after her father murdered her mother and three of her siblings; of marrying an emotionally abusive man, raising her own family, and finally learning to forgive herself and take control of her life in order to live fully and colorfully.

"One of the most influential, admired, and innovative women of our time: fashion designer, philanthropist, wife, mother, and grandmother, Diane von Furstenberg offers a book about becoming the woman she wanted to be. Diane von Furstenberg started out with a suitcase full of jersey dresses and an idea of who she wanted to be -- in her words, 'the kind of woman who is independent and who doesn't rely on a man to pay her bills.' She has since become that woman, establishing herself as a global brand and a major force in the fashion industry, all the while raising a family and maintaining 'my children are my greatest creation.' In The Woman I Wanted to Be, von Furstenberg reflects on her extraordinary life -- from childhood in Brussels to her days as a young, jet-set princess, to creating the dress that came to symbolize independence and power for an entire generation of women. With remarkable honesty and wisdom, von Furstenberg mines the rich territory of what it means to be a woman. She opens up about her family and career, overcoming cancer, building a global brand, and devoting herself to empowering other women, writing, 'I want every woman to know that she can be the woman she wants to be" -- Provided by publisher.

Pages