Home > Books, Movies & Music > New Arrivals > New Arrivals - eBooks

New Arrivals - eBooks

When the guests of the Shangri-La Hotel are scared away by a white-haired female ghost, Dink and his friends investigate the mystery.

This playful rhyming Little Golden Book asks, "How do penguins play?" Children will delight in watching bear cubs, seals, penguins, monkeys, and other animal friends frolicking joyfully with each other. Adorable pastel illustrations show these animals playing king-of-the-hill, keep away, and other fun and familiar games.

When nineteen-year-old Gem of the Desert People, called Monstrous by the Smooth Skins, becomes the prisoner of the seventeen-year-old Smooth Skin queen, Isra, age-old prejudices begins to fall aside as the two begin to understand each other.

Shy, twelve-year-old Una Fairchild is suddenly transported by a mysterious book into the Land of Story, where characters from books hope to be cast into a tale of their own, and Una attends the Perrault Academy while trying to discover why she is there.

A dog named Robot pokes his nose into a hole in the ground. What is down there? Four boys have come with the dog to find out.

Ella Mentry School's newest teacher, Mrs. Lizzy, has some very strange ideas about learning during recess.

Now thirteen years old, Tom Ward continues his apprenticeship with the Spook as they confront a dangerous bane who can control people's thoughts.

Thirty years after destroying her detective father's career and altering the lives of everyone she loves, Rachel, who has never given up hope of vindicating her father, finally finds The Sunset Strangler, a killer who, in the summer of 1979, preyed on young women in northern California.

A lion, a great white shark, and a timber wolf, all meat-eaters who have been hurt by the cruelty of plant-eaters, form a support group which has limited success until their newest member, a great horned owl, shares some advice.

Thirteen-year-old Lemony Snicket begins his apprenticeship with S. Theodora Markson of the secretive V.F.D. in the tiny dot of a town called Stain'd By The Sea, where he helps investigate the theft of a statue.

A young boy named Jinx encounters magic and danger as he grows up in the deep, dark forest known as the Urwald and discovers that the world beyond--and within--the Urwald is more complex than he could imagine.

Greg records his sixth grade experiences in a middle school where he and his best friend, Rowley, undersized weaklings amid boys who need to shave twice daily, hope just to survive, but when Rowley grows more popular, Greg must take drastic measures to save their friendship.

Before their world is destroyed completely, seventeen-year-old Dawn must convince the vampires to unite with humans against the evil Day Walkers.

Jaycee and Rachel were best friends until a terrible night when their friendship faltered and Rachel was found dead, but her last text message starts Jaycee on a search that may prove Rachel's death was no random crime.

Describes the man and the story behind the creation of America's national anthem, profiling Francis Scott Key as a busy and respected political advisor who was inspired to write his famous poem after witnessing the Battle of Fort McHenry.

Heart attacks happen to other people #thingsIthoughtweretrue When Morgan's mom gets sick, it's hard not to panic. Without her mother, she would have no one--until she finds out the dad who walked out on her as a baby isn't as far away as she thought... Adam is a stuck-up, uptight jerk #thingsIthoughtweretrue Now that they have a summer job together, Morgan's getting to know the real Adam, and he's actually pretty sweet...in a nerdy-hot kind of way. He even offers to go with her to find her dad. Road trip, anyone? 5000 Twitter followers are all the friends I need #thingsIthoughtweretrue With Adam in the back seat, a hyper chatterbox named Amy behind the wheel, and plenty of Cheetos to fuel their trip, Morgan feels ready for anything. She's not expecting a flat tire, a missed ferry, a fake girlfriend...and that these two people she barely knew before the summer started will become the people she can't imagine living without.

aFrom the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice! Hal and his brotherband crew are hot on the trail of the pirate Zavac and they have one thing only on their minds: Stopping the bloodthirsty thief before he can do more damage. Of course, they also know Zavac has the Andomal, the priceless Skandian artifact stolen when the brotherband let down their guard. The chase leads down mighty rivers, terrifying rapids, to the lawless fortress of Ragusa. If Hal is to succeed, he will need to go beyond his brotherband training. He will need to challenge the pirate one-on-one, knowing only one of them will survive. The epic series from Ranger's Apprentice author John Flanagan continues, delivering pulse-pounding adventure and fun. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

When Becca rescues Chris Merrick during a parking-lot beating and discovers that Chris and his brothers have supernatural powers that enable them to control the elements, she unknowingly puts herself in danger.

A rhyming tribute to the wonders brought by spring.

"Hero. Foreigner. Queen. Elisa, at the age of seventeen, is all three. And all three draw enemies. Faced with assassins, court politics, and the threat of civil war, Elisa despairs of being the ruler her people need. Her only hope is the Godstone. She must master its power once and for all. She finds clues hidden in a long forgotten--and forbidden--scripture. Accompanied by a one-eyed warrior, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa takes a leap of faith and crosses an ocean in search of the ultimate source of the Godstone's power. But her faith has always had a price, and doing the right thing might mean giving up the power she desperately needs. And it might mean giving up the man she desperately loves. Rae Carson continues the epic story begun in The Girl of Fire and Thorns with a novel that is remarkable, adventurous, and even more romantic than the first"-- Provided by publisher.

Party planner Dellina Hopkins finds herself forced to work with former pro-football kicker Sam Ridge, whom she has avoided since their aborted one-night stand, when his firm hires her to organize an event.

Her eagerly awaited new novel, beloved New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin returns with an extraordinary story of love and loyalty'and an unconventional heroine struggling to reconcile both. Thirty-three-year-old Shea Rigsby has spent her entire life in Walker, Texas'a small college town that lives and dies by football, a passion she unabashedly shares. Raised alongside her best friend, Lucy, the daughter of Walker's legendary head coach, Clive Carr, Shea was too devoted to her hometown team to leave. Instead she stayed in Walker for college, even taking a job in the university athletic department after graduation, where she has remained for more than a decade. But when an unexpected tragedy strikes the tight-knit Walker community, Shea's comfortable world is upended, and she begins to wonder if the life she's chosen is really enough for her. As she finally gives up her safety net to set out on an unexpected path, Shea discovers unsettling truths about the people and things she has always trusted most'and is forced to confront her deepest desires, fears, and secrets. Thoughtful, funny, and brilliantly observed, The One and Only is a luminous novel about finding your passion, following your heart, and, most of all, believing in something bigger than yourself . . . the one and only thing that truly makes life worth living. Praise for Emily Giffin "Emily Giffin ranks as a grand master. . . . She has traversed the slippery slopes of true love, lost love, marriage, motherhood, betrayal, forgiveness and redemption that have led her to be called 'a modern-day Jane Austen.' "'Chicago Sun-Times "Giffin's writing is true, smart, and heartfelt."'Entertainment Weekly "Giffin . . . excels at creating complex characters and quick-to-read stories that ask us to explore what we really want from our lives."'The Atlanta Journal-Constitution "A dependably down-to-earth, girlfriendly storyteller."'The New York Times "Giffin's talent lies in taking relatable situations and injecting enough wit and suspense to make them feel fresh."'People "When it comes to writing stories that resonate with real women, bestselling author Emily Giffin has hit her stride."'San Francisco Chronicle "One of the sharpest . . . writers out there . . . profound, humorous, and reveals layers about a woman's deepest desires."'The Arizona Republic From the Hardcover edition.

How-dee! My name's Big Blue Bill, and I'm a truck. I've got 18 big wheels turning, 600 horses under the hood, and 53 feet o' trailer hangin' on behind ... So begins a book that introduces all types of trucks (with names such as Bony Tony and Leif the Logging Truck), narrated by a good ol' boy semi-truck! Lively text and bold, colorful artwork of hip, anthropomorphic trucks will transport young readers down highways, into a truck stop, and onto a construction site.

When twelve-year-old Elise, orphaned since age three, becomes disheartened by middle school, with its bullies, changing relationships, and higher expectations, keys to long-locked rooms and messages from her late father help her cope.

Pages