Golden Library will be closed for remodel Mar. 20 - Jun. 11. - Remodel Updates

Home > Books, Movies & Music > New Arrivals > New Arrivals - eBooks

New Arrivals - eBooks

Everyone has heard of Albert Einstein-but what exactly did he do? How much do kids really know about Albert Einstein besides the funny hair and genius label? For instance, do they know that he was expelled from school as a kid? Finally, here's the story of Albert Einstein's life, told in a fun, engaging way that clearly explores the world he lived in and changed.

My First Animals: Let's Squeak and Squawk! helps kids develop first language skills by introducing them to a world of incredible animals. Each tabbed section focuses on a different category of animals, from birds to mammals to sea creatures.

A look at Milton Hershey's life details his professional successes, including the founding of the Hershey Chocolate Company, and how he used his wealth to benefit others.

Themed sections highlight this vocabulary-building board book for very young readers.

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they'd have a chance to remake their world. This radiant, fully alive novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing'often all at once. "A wild, beautiful, and profoundly moving novel. Jandy Nelson's writing is so electric, so alive, her pages practically glow in the dark." --Ransom Riggs, New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City "Jandy Nelson is a rare, explosive talent, and one of the best writers working today. Her prose is vivid, breathtaking, and drenched in passion, and her stories remind me why words can change the world." --Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series. "I love this book. Jandy Nelson is my new writing hero. Read this book. She'll be your favorite author as well." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s Jandy Nelson's writing is poetic and mesmerizing. More importantly, Nelson weaves a novel that seeps into your bones like fire on a cold day . . . I'll Give You the Sun is a novel that promises a story like nothing else and then delivers it.' --Garret Freymann-Weyr, author of Printz Honor book, My Heartbeat "An extraordinary book! I've never read anything like it. Lyrical-unique-passionate-magical-tragic-hopeful--Nelson's characters will fly off the page and into your heart." --Nancy Garden, author of Annie on my Mind.

Born into slavery in Maryland in 1818, Frederick Douglass was determined to gain freedom--and once he realized that knowledge was power, he secretly learned to read and write to give himself an advantage. After escaping to the North in 1838, as a free man he gave powerful speeches about his experience as a slave. He was so impressive that he became a friend of President Abraham Lincoln, as well as one of the most famous abolitionists of the nineteenth century.

A brief introduction to the physical characteristics and behavior of various marine mammals, particularly whales and dolphins.

"While other kids played sports, Steven Spielberg was writing scripts and figuring out camera angles. He went from entertaining his Boy Scout troop with home movies to amazing audiences around the world with epic blockbusters. He has directed four of the most successful films of all time and has won two Academy Awards for Best Director. From Jaws to Lincoln, young readers and aspiring filmmakers will be fascinated by the life of this famous director"-- Provided by publisher.

With bright pictures and bold prints, kindergarten children will be delighted from this familiar guessing game to discover which of their favorite pets are waiting to be discovered.

Offers insight into the historical events that prompted Columbus' efforts to establish new trade routes to the Indies, his struggles to obtain financial support for his voyages, and the important discoveries that caused him to become known as the "Great Admiral of the Seas."

When Portuguese sailor Ferdinand Magellan set sail from Spain in 1519, he believed he could get to the Spice Islands by sailing west through or around the New World. He was right, but what he didn't know was that the treacherous voyage would take him three years and cost him his life. Black-and-white line drawings illustrate Magellan's life and voyage, with sidebars and a time line that enhance readers' understanding of the period.

"A biography of the Beatles, the world's most famous rock band"--Provided by publisher.

Walt Disney always loved to entertain people. Often it got him into trouble. With black-and-white illustrations throughout, this biography reveals the man behind the magic.

Explains the life and times of this ancient Egyptian ruler, covering the story of the tomb's discovery, as well as myths and stories of mummy curses.

At 800-feet long, the Hindenburg was the largest airship ever built--just slightly smaller than the Titanic! Also of a disastrous end, the zeppelin burst into flame as spectators watched it attempt to land in Lakehurst, New Jersey on May 6, 1937. In under a minute, the Hindenburg was gone, people jumping from windows to escape. However, only 62 of the 97 crew members and passengers onboard survived. The exact cause of the disaster is still unknown and remains a fascinating historical mystery perfect for this series.

A biography of the third president of the United States and writer of the Declaration of Independence.

Discusses the importance and causes of various kinds of weather, how it can change and be predicted, and how weather is different in different places.

Jacky Faber is framed as passing confidential U.S. information to the British. Forced to flee Boston, she goes undercover as a governess for a prominent Puritan family. When outed by a nosy postmaster, she deserts the respectability of her position, dons a leotard and slippers, and poses as a Russian tightrope walker in a traveling circus. But the law soon catches up with her, and prospects do not look good. Through her many adventures, Jacky has always found the ingenuity to escape dire situations, but this time it looks like Puss in Boots has run out of lives . . . and her happily-ever-after will be cut short at the foot of the gallows.

Dinosaur! is the perfect book for children who love dinosaurs, with spectacular pictures and fun facts on every dinosaur from T. rex to Triceratops. Packed with the most realistic dinosaur images ever published in a children's book, this lavishly illustrated, fact-filled dinosaur encyclopedia brings the lost world of Velociraptor, Stegosaurus, and other prehistoric monsters back to life as never seen before.

Introduces readers to a number of different species of snakes, their appearances, and behavior patterns.

Looks at the life and career of the physician and NASA astronaut who became the first American woman in space in 1983.

The man who saved the lives of his PT-109 crewmen during WWII and became the 35th president fought-and won-his first battle at the age of two-and-a-half, when he was stricken with scarlet fever. Although his presidency was cut short, our nation's youngest elected leader left an indelible mark on the American consciousness and now is profiled in our Who Was...?

"Abigail Adams was a strong woman far ahead of her time. She urged her husband, President John Adams, to 'remember the ladies' and despite having no formal education herself, she later advocated for equal education in public schools for both boys and girls. She was also the first First Lady to live in the White House! This biography tells the story of Abigail Adams and her role in America's Revolutionary War period"-- Provided by publisher.

Just thinking about dinosaurs is enough to make your imagination run wild. Join us for a journey of 100 million years--a journey from the Triassic to the Jurassic--where you'll encounter dinosaurs from all around the world. Complete with fun facts and designed with young children in mind, this book is filled with bright, colorful illustrations and clearly written text. The Wonderful World Discoveries Series teaches children about our natural world. Books in the series are designed to meet specific early learning and school curriculum objectives.

A look at the life and accomplishments of the famous pioneer.

Pages