July 4 - All libraries will be closed for Independence Day.

Home > Books, Movies & Music > New Arrivals > New Arrivals - eBooks

New Arrivals - eBooks

In 1870s London, a young orphan girl becomes the apprentice to a man who traps monsters for a living.

When their car breaks down, Dee, her boyfriend Luke, and his brother Mike walk through a winter storm to take refuge in a nearby deserted town called Purity Springs, but in the morning they see the town is populated with a deadly cult and find themselves at the mercy of the charismatic leader, Elijah Hawkins.

The world of high-performance athletics is changing forever. Not so long ago, you could compete at the top level with hard work and a good coach, but today, it's impossible to separate the achievements of athletes from the scientists who support them. In Faster, Higher, Stronger, veteran journalist Mark McClusky brings readers behind the scenes with a new generation of athletes, coaches, and scientists whose accomplishments are changing our understanding of human physical achievement and completely redefining the limits of the human body. At the exciting new frontier of sports, science, and technology, the book explores: - The role that genes and training play - How to find hidden champions and fasttrack greatness - The truth about the 10,000 hours rule - New research on breaking through fatigue - Revolutions in data and nutrition - And how we can apply the lessons about focus, dedication, and sheer ingenuity in our own lives. Brimming with cutting-edge science and gripping anecdotes, Faster, Higher, Stronger is a fascinating, exhilarating look at how far we can push the boundaries of our bodies and minds.

Hank's class gets to take care of Principal Love's pet frog while he's away, and Hank is thrilled when he's selected to take it home for the weekend. But when he forgets to put the top back on the tank, Hank's excitement quickly turns to panic--the frog has escaped! The frog hunt is on, but time is running out. Hank needs to find that frog, and fast!

A group of activists is determined to do whatever is necessary to stop the building of a nuclear power plant--assault, sabotage, domestic terrorism. When a fellow Navajo Police officer is injured in an attack aimed at Ella Clah's boyfriend, Ella vows to do whatever it takes to find the terrorists and bring them to justice.

In the last months of high school, charismatic eighteen-year-old Sutter Keely lives in the present, staying drunk or high most of the time, but that could change when he starts working to boost the self-confidence of a classmate, Aimee.

On the Edge by Allison van Diepen has descriptive copy which is not yet available from the Publisher.

A Valentine's Day dance at Greg's middle school has turned his world upside down until an unexpected twist gives Greg a partner for the dance and leaves his best friend Rowley the odd man out.

When Paddington arrives in London, he's excited to explore the city that he's heard so much about. Thanks to a stroke of luck, he meets Mr. and Mrs. Brown at the train station. They welcome him into their home and agree to help him find the explorer who visited his family in Peru. As Paddington sets out to search for the explorer and discover the many wonders in the city, he catches the eye of an evil taxidermist who would love nothing more than to come between the bear and the Browns. It will take every member of the Brown household to help Paddington learn that finding a home and a family is the greatest adventure of all.PaddingtonPaddington is a film that is sure to capture your heart.

The Best American Series® First, Best, and Best-Selling The Best American series is the premier annual showcase for the country?s finest short fiction and nonfiction. Each volume?s series editor selects notable works from hundreds of magazines, journals, and websites. A special guest editor, a leading writer in the field, then chooses the best twenty or so pieces to publish. This unique system has made the Best American series the most respected ? and most popular ? of its kind. The Best American Mystery Stories 2012 Peter S. Beagle, Kathleen Ford, Mary Gaitskill, Lou Manfredo, Thomas McGuane, Gina Paoli, T. Jefferson Parker, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Charles Todd, Daniel Woodrell, and others.

Clammy Clam refuses to open his shell to say hello.

Lisa Scottoline selects a variety of works of American mystery writing as the best of the genre from the year 2013.

Nineteen-year-old returning champion Sean Kendrick competes against Puck Connolly, the first girl ever to ride in the annual Scorpio Races, both trying to keep hold of their dangerous water horses long enough to make it to the finish line.

It's been 21 days since the hundred landed on Earth. They're the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries...or so they thought. Facing an unknown enemy, Wells attempts to keep the group together. Clarke strikes out for Mount Weather, in search of other colonists, while Bellamy is determined to rescue his sister, no matter the cost. And back on the ship, Glass faces an unthinkable choice between the love of her life and life itself. In this pulse-pounding sequel to The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can -- together.

A magical new series from Pseudonymous Bosh, the bestselling author of the Secret Series Magic is BAD.As in fake. Cheesy. Unreal. At least, that's what Clay, who has seen one magic show too many, thinks. When words from his journal appear mysteriously on his school wall as graffiti, he never imagines that magic might be to blame. And when the same graffiti lands him at Earth Ranch, a camp for "troubled" kids on a remote volcanic island, magic is the last thing he expects to find there. But at Earth Ranch, there is one strange surprise after another, until Clay no longer knows what to expect. Is he really talking to a llama' Did he really see a ghost' What is the scary secret hidden in the abandoned library' The only thing he knows for sure is that behind the clouds of vog (volcanic smog), nothing is as it seems. Can he solve the riddle of Earth Ranch before trouble erupts' Elusive author Pseudonymous Bosch introduces an extraordinary new series that will have you believing in the unbelievable. >>

Ten-year-old Ben Fox has good friends, a great dog, and a lightning-fast little sister who drives him a bit batty. The only thing in the fifth grader''s life that''s truly annoying--well, besides having to wear braces on his feet every day--is the family''s wily Siamese cat, Percy. Ben has always suspected something was off about Percy, who has never shown him or his beloved dog, Captain Sparkles, much affection. But now he''s sure something is off--Percy has raised an army of squirrel zombies in the backyard and they''re ready to take on the dog. It''ll be up to Ben to figure out how to stop.

"A construction crew found the first body. The cops found three more, in a cluster that lay on both sides of the border of the Navajo Reservation. Because some of the bodies were buried outside the Rez, Navajo Police Special Investigator Ella Clah and her team must work a delicate joint investigation with the New Mexico police. Identifying the dead isn't easy--some had been buried for years--and at first the cases look to be nothing but dead ends. Then one of the bodies turns out to be that of a missing man who was believed to have embezzled funds from his construction firm and suspicions focus on the man's partner. With no obvious links between any of the corpses and the anniversary of their deaths fast approaching, Ella feels frustrated by the investigation's lack of progress. Unless they can find what connects these victims, someone else may soon be killed. Ella's ability to concentrate is battered by worries about her teenage daughter, who has been skipping school, and her mother, who is cooking up a storm, a sure sign that trouble is brewing in the household. Black Thunder, an Ella Clah novel, is a police procedural mystery that should appeal to all readers. "-- Provided by publisher.

For all kids who have ever dreaded the moment when the lights turn off and the bedroom door closes . . . By day, George is a brave boy. He'll climb the tallest tree, leap over fences, and stand up for his friends, without fear. But when the sun goes down, it's only a matter of time before his parents say good night, leaving him in the dark. In the dark, George's room fills with terrifying sights. The only thing to do is to hide under the covers with his bear. But wait! On this night, Bear is not in his bed. Where is it' It's across the room, in the darkest, scariest corner... Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Jon Klassen's The Dark, this heartwarming tale gives extra reassurance to little ones who are bravely facing their own bedtime fears.

This e-short prequel to The False Princess will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and Tamora Pierce, giving them a new author to love and a new fantasy world to enter, a world filled with wizardry, mystery, and just the right touch of romance. This prequel introduces the court of Thorvaldor, Nalia, its princess, who has reached the magical age of sixteen, and her best friend, Kiernan, the earl's son who loves her but feels he is too far below her in rank to dream of making a match with her.

In this fast-paced survival story set in Hawaii, electronics fail worldwide, the islands become completely isolated, and a strange starscape fills the sky. Leilani and her father embark on a nightmare odyssey from Oahu to their home on the Big Island. Leilani's epilepsy holds a clue to the disaster, if only they can survive as the islands revert to earlier ways. A powerful story enriched by fascinating elements of Hawaiian ecology, culture, and warfare, this captivating and dramatic debut from Austin Aslan is the first of two novels. The author has a master's degree in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

When 100 juvenile delinquents are sent on a mission to recolonize Earth, they get a second chance at freedom, friendship, and love, as they fight to survive in a dangerous new world.

Longing for a life filled with poetry and the green pastures beyond the farm where she is destined for the slaughterhouse, Audrey the cow enlists the help of human and animal friends to stage a daring escape.

"Sutton Mercer had the perfect life, great friends, and a gorgeous boyfriend ... until someone murdered her. Then the killer forced Sutton's long-lost twin sister, Emma, to pretend to be her. Now Sutton can only watch from beyond the grave as Emma frantically tries to figure out who killed her sister, and why. But when Sutton's body is discovered, Emma's time is up--and she becomes the number-one suspect herself."--Publisher's statement on Amazon.com.

Pages