Home > Books, Movies & Music > New Arrivals > New Arrivals - eBooks

New Arrivals - eBooks

In this fast-paced survival story set in Hawaii, electronics fail worldwide, the islands become completely isolated, and a strange starscape fills the sky. Leilani and her father embark on a nightmare odyssey from Oahu to their home on the Big Island. Leilani's epilepsy holds a clue to the disaster, if only they can survive as the islands revert to earlier ways. A powerful story enriched by fascinating elements of Hawaiian ecology, culture, and warfare, this captivating and dramatic debut from Austin Aslan is the first of two novels. The author has a master's degree in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

When 100 juvenile delinquents are sent on a mission to recolonize Earth, they get a second chance at freedom, friendship, and love, as they fight to survive in a dangerous new world.

Shocked by the murder of a young Navajo woman, Navajo Police Special Investigator Ella Clah calls in FBI Agent Dwayne Blalock for help, but she soon realizes that the murderer may have a link to her own past and to her father, murdered a decade earlier.

Ten-year-old Ben Fox has good friends, a great dog, and a lightning-fast little sister who drives him a bit batty. The only thing in the fifth grader''s life that''s truly annoying--well, besides having to wear braces on his feet every day--is the family''s wily Siamese cat, Percy. Ben has always suspected something was off about Percy, who has never shown him or his beloved dog, Captain Sparkles, much affection. But now he''s sure something is off--Percy has raised an army of squirrel zombies in the backyard and they''re ready to take on the dog. It''ll be up to Ben to figure out how to stop.

For all kids who have ever dreaded the moment when the lights turn off and the bedroom door closes . . . By day, George is a brave boy. He'll climb the tallest tree, leap over fences, and stand up for his friends, without fear. But when the sun goes down, it's only a matter of time before his parents say good night, leaving him in the dark. In the dark, George's room fills with terrifying sights. The only thing to do is to hide under the covers with his bear. But wait! On this night, Bear is not in his bed. Where is it' It's across the room, in the darkest, scariest corner... Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Jon Klassen's The Dark, this heartwarming tale gives extra reassurance to little ones who are bravely facing their own bedtime fears.

This e-short prequel to The False Princess will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and Tamora Pierce, giving them a new author to love and a new fantasy world to enter, a world filled with wizardry, mystery, and just the right touch of romance. This prequel introduces the court of Thorvaldor, Nalia, its princess, who has reached the magical age of sixteen, and her best friend, Kiernan, the earl's son who loves her but feels he is too far below her in rank to dream of making a match with her.

At Ever After High, everyone is expected to sign the Storybook of Legends, pledging to follow in their fairytale parent's footsteps. But when Raven Queen came along, things became fairy, fairy confusing. Now no one's destiny is certain, not even for the most royal of them all, Apple White. When a mysterious being from Wonderland begins to infect Ever After High with a strange magic, everything goes topsy-turvy. The students transform into animals and objects, palace mice talk, and the beautiful green grounds on campus fade to black-and-white. Lizzie Hearts, Wonderland's future queen, Cedar Wood, daughter of Pinocchio, and Madeline Hatter, heir to the Mad Hatter's Hat and Tea Shoppe, seem to be the only ones who haven't completely lost their heads. It's up to them to save their best friends forever after from a curse that threatens to give their school-and their lives-a very unhappy ending.

Zack McGee gets help from his extraterrestrial best friend, Amp, when he has to create an experiment for the annual school science fair.

35 girls. 1 crown. The competition of a lifetime. America must choose between Prince Maxon and becoming a princess, or her first love, Aspen. Two bonus novellas give readers a look at the world of Prince Maxon and also the guard Aspen before and during the Selection.

Longing for a life filled with poetry and the green pastures beyond the farm where she is destined for the slaughterhouse, Audrey the cow enlists the help of human and animal friends to stage a daring escape.

"Sutton Mercer had the perfect life, great friends, and a gorgeous boyfriend ... until someone murdered her. Then the killer forced Sutton's long-lost twin sister, Emma, to pretend to be her. Now Sutton can only watch from beyond the grave as Emma frantically tries to figure out who killed her sister, and why. But when Sutton's body is discovered, Emma's time is up--and she becomes the number-one suspect herself."--Publisher's statement on Amazon.com.

A six-year-old (The Pain) and his eight-year-old sister (The Great One) see each other as troublemakers and the best-loved in the family.

On a Navajo reservation, police officer Ella Clah investigates two murders which appear to be linked with conflict between whites and Indians at a nearby mine. The probe is complicated by the whites' perception that she is pro-Indian while Indians think she is pro-white because she used to work for the FBI.

The City of Lights sets the stage for romance, drama and intrigue in the latest Confessions novel from the world's bestselling mystery writer! After investigating multiple homicides and her family's decades-old skeletons in the closet, Tandy Angel is finally reunited with her lost love in Paris. But as he grows increasingly distant, Tandy is confronted with disturbing questions about him, as well as what really happened to her long-dead sister. With no way to tell anymore who in her life she can trust, how will Tandy ever get to the bottom of the countless secrets her parents kept from her' James Patterson leads this brilliant teenage detective through Paris on a trail of lies years in the making, with shocking revelations around every corner.

Being consummate fans of the Simon Snow series helped Cath and her twin sister, Wren, cope as little girls whose mother left them, but now, as they start college but not as roommates, Cath fears she is unready to live without Wren holding her hand--and without her passion for Snow.

Welcome to Bald's farm. Well, perhaps it's not Bald's farm anymore. The old man has kicked the bucket, setting off a wave of conflict from the flooded farmhouse kitchen to the muddy pig pen to the tall wheat fields. In this darkly funny, slightly supernatural chain of tales, no creature is safe. Not Leonard Grey, a spider with sophisticated tastes. Not Esmeralda, a resentful one-legged pig. Not Tulip, a plant with a mean streak. And as for Bones, the old man's son, and Fat, his winged rival? They'll learn that danger lurks in the strangest of places.

Kind Beauty grows to love the Beast at whose castle she is compelled to stay and through her love releases him from the spell which had turned him from a handsome prince into an ugly beast.

Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don't Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom. Every day is a misery for a nameless, motherless Southern girl who is treated cruelly by her pa and brothers. Her life changes forever when a runaway slave named Zenobia turns to her for help and shelter. Longing for her own freedom, the girl decides to run away, and she and Zenobia set off on a harrowing journey. Along the way, Zenobia names the girl Lark, after the bird, for her ability to mimic its song. Running by night, hiding by day, the girls are pursued by Lark's pa and brothers and by ruthless slave catchers. Brightwell, another runaway slave, joins them, and the three follow secret signs to a stop on the Underground Railroad. When the hideout is raided and Zenobia and Brightwell are captured, Lark sets out alone to rescue her friends. From the Hardcover edition.

When Zack McGee crashes his bike, he's stuck at home with his arm in a sling and his baseball season on the line. What's worse, his bike crashed because his four-inch-tall houseguest, Amp, experimented on the brakes! Now Zack is easy prey for his little brother, Taylor, who's determined to find out once and for all what mysteries Zack has hidden in his pocket.

"The past could never truly be left behind, and Detective Travis Blacksheep had learned that lesson well. His past had brought him back to the Navajo Nation and kept him devoted to his ancestral traditions. But now a faded memory stood on his doorstep asking for help--the woman he had never been able to forget. Laura Perry was back in Three Rivers to catch a serial killer, and she was willing to use herself as bait. Without Travis protecting her, she'd be an easy target. But keeping Laura alive was easier than keeping his hands off her. And with a relentless predator on their trail, distractions weren't something either of them could afford"--Publisher description.

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this first book of an epic trilogy from acclaimed fantasy writer Zoë Marriott. When Mio sneaks the family's katana--a priceless ancestral sword--from her parents' attic, she just wants to spice up a costume. But the katana is much more than a dusty antique. Awakening the power within the sword unleashes a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. But it also releases Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, from the depths of time. He helps to protect Mio--and steals her heart. With creatures straight out of Japanese myths stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life--but the love of a lifetime.

The frog warriors search for their dreamcasting turtle friend, Yabber, who insists he knows who holds the key to saving the Amphibilands: the Rainbow Serpent, an ancient god who brought life to the Australian outback.

What do you get when you cross America's Next Top Model with Lost? A brilliantly funny novel by the queen of teen satire, Libba Bray.

Pages